Servicenavigation und Suchfeld

Our Office


Inventor and Innovation Awards

Four young people giving "high-five"

Outstanding innovations will be rewarded

Awards presented at ceremonies for epoch-making achievements in the field of research and development are moving those into the centre of public attention who, day in, day out, carry out important research mostly without attracting the attention of the media: innovators. Inventor and innovation awards are, above all, aimed at rewarding those people who have turned the results of their work into cutting-edge solutions in the field of technology. At the same time, the awards encourage the spirit of invention, innovative thinking and progress.

However, the awards for technical inventions, presented to individuals or teams, also impressively demonstrate how important it is to protect innovation. That is why the DPMA has supported many of these prestigious inventor and innovation awards for years. President Cornelia Rudloff-Schäffer and other executives of the DPMA are members of the jury and/or members of the board of trustees of the following innovation awards:

Deutscher Zukunftspreis – the Federal President’s award for technology and innovation

The Deutscher Zukunftspreis is an accolade for excellent inventions; it recognises the scientific-technological level of innovation, successful commercialisation and the creation of sustainable jobs. Furthermore, it aims to encourage young people to get involved in science and technology. This prize is presented personally by the Federal President. President Cornelia Rudloff-Schäffer is a member of the board of trustees, which determines the final criteria for the selection process. As an institution entitled to propose candidates, the DPMA also nominates projects for the Deutscher Zukunftspreis to the jury. As an inventor you can contact us about your projects.

European Inventor Award

The European Inventor Award is presented annually by the European Patent Office (EPO). It recognises outstanding inventors from Europe and around the world, who have made an exceptional contribution to social development, technological progress and economic growth. In order to be nominated, at least one valid European patent must have been granted for the invention. The awards are presented in the categories: "Industry", "Research", "SMEs", "Non-European Countries" as well as "Lifetime Achievement". The patent examiners of the DPMA submit proposals for the nominations.

Innovationspreis Bayern

The Innovationspreis Bayern (Bavarian innovation award) is awarded by the Bavarian Ministry of Economic Affairs, Regional Development and Energy, the association of Bavarian chambers of commerce and industry and the association of Bavarian chambers of crafts and trades in recognition of outstanding innovative achievements. It pays tribute to innovations that have started gaining success in the market or can be expected to soon have success in the market. President Cornelia Rudloff-Schäffer is a member of the high-profile jury, which selects the winners of three main awards and a maximum of four special awards. Innovationspreis Bayern is a recognition award which is not financially funded. It is awarded biennially.

Innovationspreis Thüringen

For twenty years, the Innovationspreis Thüringen has been jointly given by the Thuringian Ministry of Economic Affairs, the Foundation for Technology, Innovation and Research of Thuringia (STIFT), TÜV Thüringen e.V. and Ernst-Abbe-Stiftung (Ernst Abbe Foundation). Markus Ortlieb, the Head of the Jena Sub-Office (DPMA), is a member of the jury, which chooses the award winners in up to five categories. The award is endowed with 100,000 euros of prize money.

Sächsischer Staatspreis für Design

The Sächsische Staatspreis für Design is awarded by the Saxon State Minister for Economics, Labour and Transport. The aims of the competition are to anchor the economic factor of design in Saxon companies, to make the efficiency of Saxon design visible and to promote the Saxon design industry and young designers. Barbara Preißner, Head of the Directorate General "Trade Marks and Designs" of the DPMA, is a member of the jury. The jury selects the winners from five categories. The prize money totals 50,000 euros. The distribution of the prize money is at the discretion of the jury.

Jugend forscht

Jugend forscht is the biggest youth contest in Europe in the fields of mathematics, computer science, natural sciences and engineering. This foundation aims to foster young people and spark their interest in these subjects to contribute to ensuring the future of society.
The DPMA is a member of the jury and is involved in the Jugend forscht competition at the national level in Bavaria.

nach oben


Last updated: 20 October 2020 


You are here: