Deutscher Zukunftspreis

Winners of the 2022 Deutscher Zukunftspreis award

Winners of the 2022 Deutscher Zukunftspreis award

The team proposed by the German Patent and Trade Mark Office (DPMA) consisting of Dr Thomas Kalkbrenner, Dr Jörg Siebenmorgen and Ralf Wolleschensky of ZEISS Research Microscopy Solutions in Jena was presented by Federal President Frank-Walter Steinmeier with the 2022 Deutscher Zukunftspreis award for developing a high-resolution 3D fluorescence microscope for a long-term examination of biological probes.

The new high-resolution 3D fluorescence microscope minimises the undesirable effect of what is known as phototoxicity, that is the damage inflicted on living organisms by the absolutely necessary light. Cells can thus be observed over longer periods of time without results being distorted. The device can also be easily operated by non-academic staff and enables the continued use of established sample preparations. It also allows high-throughput screening, that is the rapid analysis of a large number of samples.

Two other innovations were nominated for the 2022 Deutscher Zukunftspreis award. The first one, also a proposal by the DPMA, is a new system for high-precision patient positioning and monitoring intended for radiotherapy, such as for lung cancer treatment. The second one is a “ChargeBox” to enable nationwide, ultra-fast charging of electric vehicles even in the existing, often power-limited grid.

With the Deutscher Zukunftspreis, the Federal President honours outstanding research and development projects and recognises forward-looking technologies. The protection of these innovations paves the way to successful marketable products. The jury's decision is based essentially on the scientific and technical degree of innovation and the potential to translate this achievement into sustainable jobs. The renowned technology prize is endowed with 250,000 euros and will be presented personally by the Federal President.

Take your Chance


Dr. Stefan Kaiser
Deutsches Patent- und Markenamt
D-80297 München
Telephone: +49 (0) 89 2195-4751
Dr. Andrea Hermann
Deutsches Patent- und Markenamt
D-80297 München
Telephone: +49 (0) 89 2195-3581

As a team of researchers and developers, draw attention to your innovation and let us know about your ideas and projects in the fields of engineering and natural sciences. Submissions for the Deutscher Zukunftspreis 2024 can be filed at any time until early November 2023.

As an institution entitled to submit proposals, we nominate up to three interesting projects to the jury. The President of the German Patent and Trade Mark Office is a member of the Board of Trustees, which determines the direction of the selection decisions.

Please send your documents electronically to or

The closing date for submitting your complete application is November 3rd, 2023.

Detailed information is available in the following documents (in German):

Information about the procedure is also available on the website of

nach oben

picture: Deutscher Zukunftspreis / Schön

Last updated: 5 September 2023