Servicenavigation und Suchfeld

Our Office


Two Germans in the race for the European Inventor Award

mehrere Megaphone

Who will win the Audience Award?

On 7 June 2018, the European Patent Office (EPO) will award the European Inventors' Prize. While an international jury selects the winners in the five categories "Industry", "Research", "Non-EPO states", "Small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs)" and "Lifetime achievement", you decide on the audience award. You can support your favorites among the 15 finalists from 13 countries with your vote.

Two German inventors are also competing for the favour of the public: biophysicist Jens Frahm has been nominated in the "Research" category for his groundbreaking developments in magnetic resonance imaging. The biochemist Thomas Scheibel, proposed by the DPMA in 2016 and 2017, created artificial spider silk based on nature's model and is one of three finalists in the category "SMEs (small and medium-sized enterprises)". In addition, Erik Loopstra (NL) und Vadim Banine and their team are nominated for the development of extremely ultraviolet lithography (EUVL), which was developed at ASML and with the German optics company ZEISS.

You can vote for your favorite until June 3. Voting is possible every 24 hours until the end of the voting. The winner of the public prize will be announced at the European Inventors' Prize ceremony.

The participants in the vote also have a chance of winning: Anyone who participates can win a small innovative technical product.


Last updated: 26/03/19 


You are here: