Football and Technology

Deutsches Patent- und Markenamt

 

Goalkeeper kit

The special technical features of the clothing and the gloves are described here.

2. Goalkeeper gloves

At the beginning of the 1970s it was rather unusual for a goalkeeper to wear gloves. However, this does not mean that the advantages of gloves have not been recognised very early.

2.1 Properties required of goalkeeper gloves

First goalkeeper gloves (GB 1885-7346 A).LupeFigure 2: First goalkeeper gloves (GB 1885-7346 A).

William Sykes, a British manufacturer of footballs, was granted a patent for a pair of leather gloves for a goalkeeper as early as in 1885. The gloves had a layer of india rubber for protection and cushioning purposes (GB 1885-7346 A, Figure 2).

The improvements of goalkeeper gloves focused not only on the protection but also on providing a better grip on the ball. In the 1980s, a large variety of different materials were attached to the inner (palm) side of the gloves, eg. terry cloths or the coating of ping pong paddles (Figure 3).


Goalkeeper glove with terry cloths and coating of ping pong paddles (copyright Uhlsport GmbH)LupeFigure 3: Goalkeeper glove with terry cloths and coating of ping pong paddles (copyright Uhlsport GmbH)

Up to the present, the most diverse combinations of materials have been used to optimise grip, oa. synthetic materials with sticky effect attached to the inner (palm) side of the goalkeeper gloves (DE 195 30 282 A1).

Top

Relevant Patent Documents
Publication numberYearTitleBrief description
DE 195 30 282 A1   1995   Bekleidung, insbesondere Sportbekleidung, ganz besonders Torwartbekleidung   Goalkeeper glove with a sticky synthetic material on the inner (palm) side to provide better grip 
GB 1885-7346 A   1885   Improvements in or relating to Gloves or Gauntlets Used in Football Playing   Goalkeeper gloves made of leather with layers or strips of india rubber 

Top

2.2 Cushioning

Padding materials cushion a ball's impact and protect the hand of the goalkeeper during the game. The thicker the padding, the bigger the size of the glove compared to the hand. At the same time, the anatomy of the hand has to be taken into account so that the natural movement of the hand while grabbing and catching the ball is not compromised. Finally, all these features constantly increased the complexity of production.


For padding the palm, a variety of absorber materials are used, for example, three-dimensional fabric structures (so-called spacer fabric) directly inserted beneath the customary palm padding layer (DE 196 23 928 C2, Figure 4).

Spacer fabric (DE 196 23 928 C2)(copyright Uhlsport GmbH).LupeFigure 4: Spacer fabric (DE 196 23 928 C2)(copyright Uhlsport GmbH).

Other absorbers are provided for the edge of the hand. DE 196 11 335 C2 shows, for example, the cushioning of the outer edges of the hand, thus increasing the effective hand size. This means that the "work tool" of the goalkeeper will be expanded if suitably sturdy padding is used. This improves the keeper's chances of catching the ball.

Top

Relevant Patent Documents
Publication numberYearTitleBrief description
DE 196 23 928 C2   1996   Sporthandschuh, insbesondere Torwarthandschuh   Goalkeeper glove with spacer fabric inserted in the palm beneath the customary padding material 
DE 196 11 335 C2   1996   Sporthandschuh, insbesondere Torwarthandschuh   Padding of a goalkeeper glove on the edge of the hand, resulting in a bigger effective palm size 

Top

2.3 Segmentation

The increase in the extent of padding results in reduced flexibility of the fingers and the palm. This drawback must be counteracted by means of suitable segmentation of the palm of the glove, or cuts and embossments in the cover layers of the glove.

For example, DE 31 35 756 A1 describes a goalkeeping glove with strip-like foam thinned out at the knuckles of the inner (palm) side of the glove. This allows the fingers to flex forward normally. A similar principle is shown in

Segmentations of goalkeeper glove (DE-GM 82 25 343).LupeFigure 5: Segmentations of goalkeeper glove (DE-GM 82 25 343).

DE-GM 82 25 343. It describes a glove with predetermined buckling lines in the cover layer of the glove palm, in all areas relevant for bending the hand, in order not to hinder the movements of the hand (Figure 5).

Better flexibility can also be achieved by cuts in the cover layer of the palm of the glove without essentially weakening the padding. An example is shown in DE 297 19 08 U1. Here the cut is guided directly along the ball of the finger.

Top

Relevant Patent Documents
Publication numberYearTitleBrief description
DE 297 19 087 U1   1997   Faltenfreier Torwarthandschuh für leichtere Handhabung des Balls   A cut near the ball of the finger enables natural movement of hand in a goalkeeper glove 
DE-GM 82 25 343   1982   Sporthandschuh für Ballspiele   Goalkeeper glove with predetermined buckling lines in the cover layer of the glove palm to enable natural movement of the hand 
DE 31 35 756 A1   1981   Torwarthandschuh   Goalkeeper glove oa. with strip-like foam thinned out at the knuckles of the inner (palm) side of the glove to enable near-natural use of hand 

Top

2.4 Application of additional protection systems

Chain protector of T-shaped chain links (DE 103 29 796 B3).LupeFigure 6: Chain protector of T-shaped chain links (DE 103 29 796 B3).

Protection of the hand by additional protection systems is the most innovative field of research at present. These protectors prevent the fingers from bending backwards, against the natural direction of movement. Essentially, the protective effect is achieved by reinforcements inserted at the back of the glove's fingers. However, some protector straps are made of a not very extensible material and inserted in the lining of the palm of the glove (FR 2 882 898 A1). As DE 35 16 545 C2 shows, it has been common to insert protectors since the 1980s. This patent document describes indented reinforcement spines on the back of the glove's fingers and "webs" between the individual fingers intended to prevent lateral hyperextension of the fingers. EP 1 487 289 B1 shows an appropriate example that was apparently inspired by baseball.

Finger protectors may also have the form of blocking bodies fixed to a tension-resistant support strip, sewn in the foam cover of the glove, separately, for each individual finger (DE 199 10 799 C1). Other improvements show a link chain (DE 200 23 139 U1) or a system that protects the fingers from bending backwards made of T-shaped links (DE 103 29 796 B3, Figure 6) alternately interconnected by swivel elements. Another type of protectors are reinforcement elements with anchor-shaped rotational conntection (DE 20 2004 009 251 U1) whose length can be varied, as required, by interchangeable links.

Finger protector (DE 20 2004 013 835 U1).LupeFigure 7: Finger protector (DE 20 2004 013 835 U1).

DE 200 11 652 U1 describes a five-finger one-piece sewn-in plate with embossed grooves, filling out the entire back of the glove. The finger protector according to DE 20 2004 013 835 U1 (Figure 7) also applies to several fingers at once.


This protector gives the overall impression of claws. It is a plate with four separate finger protectors consisting of individual members which are connected in one piece with each other and correspond to the natural curvature of the hand. The whole protector is merely inserted into a pocket, integrated in the back portion of the glove and designed for this purpose. This enables an exchange of the protector at any time and allows the goalkeeper to customise it fast and without difficulties to his individual needs. Figure 8 shows what this protector looks like in reality.

Finger protector DE 20 2004 013 835 U1 put in practice (copyright Uhlsport GmbH).LupeFigure 8: Finger protector DE 20 2004 013 835 U1 put in practice (copyright Uhlsport GmbH).

Multi-component injection moulding allows to simultaneously process different plastic materials with different properties in one production step. So protector elements featuring specific local functionalities can be made of several plastic materials as a single piece, ready for use - that means without subsequent indentations or separate links. As shown in DE 10 2005 014 470 B3, the necessary flexibility and protective function is provided by the outer form and composition of the material of the protector rather than by its purely mechanical properties.

The thumb is the only finger of the hand that has a relatively high lateral flexibility and can rotate within a wide radius. Higher flexibility of the thumb is usually not sufficiently taken into account by conventional protector elements causing the protectors to slip and resulting in a reduction of the effectiveness of protection. DE 10 2004 043 779 A1 provides for a protector strip for a goalkeeper glove adjusted to the special anatomy of the thumb. This is achieved by a broadened protector section mimicking the shape of the joint at the base of the thumb.
FR 2 882 898 A1 goes the opposite way. Between the inner and outer lining of the glove, a strap with low elongation under traction is inserted, which acts from the palm to avoid hyperextension of the fingers.

Goalkeeper's glove with crumple zone (US 2008/0 109 935 A1).LupeFigure 9: Goalkeeper's glove with crumple zone (US 2008/0 109 935 A1).


Gloves with crumple zones or additional finger caps provide other methods to protect the hand of the goalkeeper (EP 2 113 291 A1). In case of the crumple zone of US 2008/0 109 935 A1, a tape-like finger extension (32) is attached, which extends over the fingertip and is fastened to both sides of the glove finger. The forces of a frontal impact acting on the tip of the finger from outside are considerably absorbed and to a great extent dissipated away from the fingertip and directed along the attachment legs along the length of the lateral areas of the glove finger (Figure 9). The extension also enlarges the effective surface area of the hand, possibly offering an additional advantage to the goalkeeper when catching the ball, provided it is not perceived as a foreign body.

Top

Relevant Patent Documents
Publication numberYearTitleBrief description
US 2008/0 109 935 A1   2006   Goalkeeper's glove with protective fingertip extension   Goalkeeper's glove with crumple zone at the fingertips  
FR 2 882 898 A1   2005   Gant comportant des moyens pour éviter le retournement des doigts   Goalkeeper glove with straps acting from the palm to avoid hyperextension of the fingers 
DE 10 2005 014 470 B3   2005   Glove reinforcing element   Finger protector for a goalkeeper glove manufactured in a single piece by multi-component injection moulding of plastic materials with the option to attach additional weights to the fingertips  
DE 20 2004 013 835 U1   2004   Fingerprotektor und damit ausgerüsteter Sporthandschuh   Finger protection for goalkeeper gloves (claws), consisting of a plate with four ray-type strips, consisting of individual members snapped together and forming the natural curvature of the fingers 
DE 10 2004 043 779 A1   2004   Versteifungsstreifen ausgebildet und bestimmt für einen Daumenbereich eines Handschuhs, insbesondere Torwarthandschuhs   Thumb protection element for a goalkeeper glove comprising a broadened section at the base of the thumb 
DE 20 2004 009 251 U1   2004   Versteifungseinrichtung für einen Handschuh, insbesondere Torwarthandschuh   Multi-link finger protector made of single elements with rotational connection  
EP 1 487 289 B1   2003   Soccer goalkeeper glove   Webbed goalkeeper glove, inspired by baseball  
DE 103 29 796 B3   2003   Protektorelement für orthopädische Anwendungen sowie für Sportbekleidungsstücke   Protection for goalkeeper gloves against bending fingers backwards consisting of T-shaped links alternately interconnected by swivel elements 
DE 200 23 139 U1   2000   Torwarthandschuh   Link chain as finger protection system for goalkeeper gloves, adjusted and sewn in separately for each finger 
DE 200 11 652 U1   2000   Sporthandschuh   Goalkeeper glove with five-finger one-piece protector against bending fingers backwards sewn in the back of the glove 
DE 199 10 799 C1   1999   Sporthandschuh, insbesondere Torwarthandschuh   Goalkeeper glove with reinforcing elements fixed to a tension-resistant support strip at the back of the fingers 
DE 35 16 545 C2   1985   Handschuh, insbesondere Torwarthandschuh   Protectors for goalkeeper glove made of indented reinforcement spines on the back of the glove's fingers and "webs" between certain fingers to avoid hyperextension of the hand or fingers 

Top

2.5 Abrasion and cut pattern

Cut pattern for goalkeeper gloves (DE 103 27 051 A1).LupeFigure 10: Cut pattern for goalkeeper gloves (DE 103 27 051 A1).

The materials used for the palm of the glove must be very durable since certain pitch conditions may cause increased abrasion. This problem is compensated by adding materials to the surface layer material of the palm which have good abrasion resistance, but, owing to their geometry, elasticity and size, will not affect the glove's function (DE 298 00 073 U1). Such additives may be plastic granulate or synthetic fibres.

In order not to waste too much of the specialised material when manufacturing gloves, optimised cut patterns are used in production. A typical example is shown in DE 103 27 051 A1 (Figure 10).

Top

Relevant Patent Documents
Publication numberYearTitleBrief description
DE 103 27 051 A1   2003   Sporthandschuh   Cut pattern for goalkeeper gloves  
DE 298 00 073 U1   1998   Sporthandschuh, insbesondere Torwarthandschuh   Goalkeeper glove with additives in the surface layer material of the palm to increase durability 

Top

2.6 Weight balancing

Goalkeeper glove with closable pockets on the back portion of the hand for receiving weights (US 6 990 689 B1)LupeFigure 11: Goalkeeper glove with closable pockets on the back portion of the hand for receiving weights (US 6 990 689 B1)

All aids provided on or within the glove with a view to make it easier for the goalkeeper to control the ball add to the overall weight of the glove. As a rule, a glove should be as lightweight as possible so as not to impair the fastness of the goalkeeper's arm movements and to avoid early muscle fatigue under high stress.

In some cases, however, it can be desired and have a positive effect if additional weights are incorporated in specific parts of a goalkeeper glove. This allows to specifically exercise certain muscle groups, the weighted glove representing a sort of lead vest for the goalkeeper's arms and hands. Another advantage is the possibility to balance the glove, ie. to adapt the weight distribution of the glove to the individual goalkeeper's preferences and needs. This is not only valuable under psychological aspects but also from the anatomic view since it may enhance the goalkeeper's safety in handling the ball. Details on this topic are explained in US 6 990 689 B1 (Figure 11). For the same reasons, DE 10 2005 014 470 B3, already mentioned under item 2.4, proposes to incorporate additional weights, which are attached to the tips of protective elements.

Top

Relevant Patent Documents
Publication numberYearTitleBrief description
DE 10 2005 014 470 B3   2005   Handschuhverstärkungselement   Finger protection element for goalkeeper glove, manufactured as a single piece by multi-component injection moulding of plastic materials and allowing to attach additional weights at the fingertips.  
US 6 990 689 B1   2003   Weighted soccer goalie glove   Goalkeeper glove with pockets provided on the back portion of the hand for receiving additional weights 

Top

Fußball und Technik

Deutsches Patent- und Markenamt

 

Die Torwartbekleidung

Hier werden technische Besonderheiten der Oberbekleidung und der Handschuhe eines Torwartes vorgestellt.

2. Die Torwarthandschuhe

Für einen Torwart war es noch Anfang der 1970er Jahre eher unüblich, beim Spielen Handschuhe zu tragen. Dies bedeutet jedoch nicht, dass nicht schon sehr früh deren Vorteile erkannt worden wären.

2.1 Anforderungen an einen Torwarthandschuh

Erste Torwarthandschuhe aus der GB 1885-7346 A.LupeFigur 2: Erste Torwarthandschuhe aus der GB 1885-7346 A.

Der Brite William Sykes ließ sich bereits 1885 ein Paar Lederhandschuhe für einen Fußballtorwart patentieren, die zu Schutz- und Dämpfungszwecken mit Naturkautschuk beschichtet waren (GB 1885-7346 A, Figur 2).

Bei der Weiterentwicklung von Torwarthandschuhen wurde neben der Schutzwirkung auch darauf geachtet, dass sich durch deren Gebrauch eine größere Griffigkeit für den Ball ergab. Die Handinnenseiten wurden deshalb in den 1980er Jahren u.a. mit so unterschiedlichen Materialien wie Frottee oder dem Belag von Tischtennisschlägern versehen (Figur 3).

Torwarthandschuh mit Frottee- und Tischtennischlägerbelag (copyright Uhlsport GmbH)LupeFigur 3: Torwarthandschuh mit Frottee- & Tischtennisschlägerbelag (Copyright: Uhlsport GmbH)

Bis zum heutigen Tag wird mit den unterschiedlichsten Materialkombinationen gearbeitet, um die Griffigkeit zu optimieren, u.a. auch mit klebrig wirkenden Kunststoffen, die an der Handinnenfläche der Torwarthandschuhe angebracht werden (DE 195 30 282 A1).

nach oben

Patentdokumente zu diesem Abschnitt
PublikationsnummerJahrTitelKurzbeschreibung
DE 195 30 282 A1   1995   Bekleidung, insbesondere Sportbekleidung, ganz besonders Torwartbekleidung   Torwarthandschuh, auf dessen Innenhandfläche zur Erhöhung der Griffigkeit ein klebriges Kunststoffmaterial aufgebracht wird 
GB 1885-7346 A   1885   Improvements in or relating to Gloves or Gauntlets Used in Football Playing   Torwarthandschuhe aus Leder mit einem Besatz aus Naturkautschuk 

nach oben

2.2 Die Polsterung

Polstermaterialien dämpfen den Aufprall des Balles und schützen die Hand des Torwarts im Spielbetrieb. Je mehr Polsterungen vorgenommen werden, desto größer wird auch der Handschuh im Vergleich zur zu schützenden Hand. Gleichzeitig muss auf die Anatomie der Hand Rücksicht genommen werden, um den natürlichen Bewegungsablauf beim Greifen und Fangen nicht unnötig zu behindern. All diese Punkte hatten letztlich einen stetig wachsenden Produktionsaufwand zur Folge.

Für die Polsterung im Handinnenbereich werden verschiedene Absorbermaterialien verwendet. Hierbei kommen z.B. auch dreidimensionale Gewebestrukturen (sog. Abstandsgewebe) zum Einsatz, die direkt unter eine gewöhnliche Handflächenpolsterung eingearbeitet werden (DE 196 23 928 C2, Figur 4).

Abstandsgewebe aus der DE 196 23 928 C2 (copyright Uhlsport GmbH).LupeFigur 4: Abstandsgewebe aus der DE 196 23 928 C2 (Copyright: Uhlsport GmbH).

Für den Handkantenbereich werden ebenfalls Absorber vorgesehen. Die DE 196 11 335 C2 zeigt etwa die Auspolsterung der Handaußenbereiche, die zugleich eine Steigerung der wirksamen Handgröße bewirkt. Das bedeutet bei geeigneter stabiler Polsterung auch ein vergrößertes "Arbeitsgerät" für den Torwart. Die Chance, an gewisse Bälle noch heranzukommen, erhöht sich für ihn dadurch.

nach oben

Patentdokumente zu diesem Abschnitt
PublikationsnummerJahrTitelKurzbeschreibung
DE 196 23 928 C2   1996   Sporthandschuh, insbesondere Torwarthandschuh   Torwarthandschuh mit einem an der Handinnenfläche unter dem üblichen Polsterungsmaterial eingenähten Abstandsgewebe 
DE 196 11 335 C2   1996   Sporthandschuh, insbesondere Torwarthandschuh   Polsterung des Handkantenbereichs eines Torwarthandschuhs mit daraus folgender größerer wirksamer Handfläche 

nach oben

2.3 Die Segmentierung

Mit wachsendem Umfang der Auspolsterung sinkt die Beweglichkeit der Finger und der Handfläche. Diesem Manko muss daher durch geeignete Segmentierungen der Handfläche oder durch Einschnitte und Einprägungen in den Deckschichten des Handschuhs entgegengewirkt werden.

In der DE 31 35 756 A1 wird z.B. ein Torwarthandschuh beschrieben, der streifenartige Verdünnungen des Schaumstoffes der Handinnenfläche auf Höhe der Fingergelenke aufweist. Somit ist ein naturnahes Abwinkeln der Finger gewährleistet. Ähnliches wird in der

Segmentierungen eines TorwarthandschuhsLupeFigur 5: Segmentierungen eines Torwarthandschuhs nach DE-GM 82 25 343.

DE-GM 82 25 343 aufgezeigt. Aus dieser ist ein Handschuh bekannt, der an allen beugungsrelevanten Stellen der Handinnenfläche Sollknickstellen in der Deckschicht aufweist, um die Handbewegungen nicht unnötig zu behindern (Figur 5).

Eine bessere Beweglichkeit kann auch durch Schnitte in der Deckschicht der Handinnenfläche erzielt werden, ohne dabei die Polsterung wesentlich zu schwächen. Ein Beispiel, bei dem dieser Schnitt direkt am Fingerballen geführt ist, zeigt DE 297 19 087 U1.

nach oben

Patentdokumente zu diesem Abschnitt
PublikationsnummerJahrTitelKurzbeschreibung
DE 297 19 087 U1   1997   Faltenfreier Torwarthandschuh für leichtere Handhabung des Balls   Ein Schnitt in Höhe des Fingerballens ermöglicht eine natürliche Handbewegung in einem Torwarthandschuh 
DE-GM 82 25 343   1982   Sporthandschuh für Ballspiele   Torwarthandschuh mit Sollknickstellen in der Deckschicht der Handinnenseite, um eine natürliche Handbewegung zu gewährleisten 
DE 31 35 756 A1   1981   Torwarthandschuh   Torwarthandschuh, dessen Schaumstoff der Handinnenseite u.a. auf Höhe der Fingergelenke streifenartige Ausdünnungen aufweist, damit eine naturnahe Handnutzung möglich ist 

nach oben

2.4 Einarbeitung zusätzlicher Protektoren

T-Gliederketten-ProtektorLupeFigur 6: T-Gliederketten-Protektor nach DE 103 29 796 B3.

Das derzeit innovativste Forschungsgebiet stellt die Sicherung der Hand durch zusätzliche Protektoren dar. Diese verhindern das Umbiegen der Finger entgegen ihrer natürlichen Bewegungsrichtung. Im Wesentlichen wird die Schutzwirkung durch Verstärkungen erzielt, die in die Fingerabschnitte der Handschuhrückseite eingesetzt werden.

Es sind jedoch auch Protektorstreifen aus wenig dehnbarem Material bekannt, die im Futter der Handinnenseite eingebracht sind (FR 2 882 898 A1).

Prinzipiell ist es, wie die DE 35 16 545 C2 zeigt, seit den 1980er Jahren üblich, Protektoren einzusetzen. In dieser Patentschrift sind neben einem fingeraußenseitig angebrachten, eingekerbten Materialsteg auch so genannte "Schwimmhäute" zwischen einzelnen Fingern vorgesehen, die deren seitliche Überdehnung verhindern sollen. Ein offensichtlich vom Baseball beeinflusstes Beispiel hierzu zeigt EP 1 487 289 B1.

Fingerprotektoren können zum Beispiel auch die Form von Sperrkörpern haben, die auf ein zugfestes Trägerband aufgebracht sind und für jeden Finger einzeln in die Schaumstoffhülle des Handschuhs eingenäht werden (DE 199 10 799 C1). Andere Entwicklungen zeigen eine Gliederkette (DE 200 23 139 U1) oder einen Überstreckschutz in Form von wechselseitig über Schwenkzapfen ineinander greifenden T-Gliedern (DE 103 29 796 B3, Figur 6). Eine weitere Variante stellen ankerförmige Drehgelenk- Protektoren (DE 20 2004 009 251 U1) dar, deren Länge je nach Bedarf durch austauschbare Glieder verändert werden kann.

FingerprotektorLupeFigur 7: Fingerprotektor nach DE 20 2004 013 835 U1.

Es ist aber auch eine aus einem Stück gefertigte fünffingerige Platine mit eingeprägten Rillen bekannt, die eingenäht den gesamten Rücken eines Handschuhs ausfüllt (DE 200 11 652 U1). Ebenfalls mehrere Finger auf einmal bedient der Fingerprotektor gemäß DE 20 2004 013 835 U1 (Figur 7).

Im Gesamtbild wirkt dieser Protektor wie eine Kralle. Von einer Platine gehen vier separate Fingerprotektoren ab, die aus zusammensteckbaren Einzelgliedern bestehen und die natürliche Fingerhaltung nachahmen. Der gesamte Protektor wird lediglich im Bereich des Handrückens in eine dafür vorgesehene Lasche eingeschoben. Dadurch ist er jederzeit auswechselbar und individuelle Anpassungen können vom Torwart schnell und problemlos selbst durchgeführt werden. Wie dieser Protektor in der Realität aussieht, ist der Figur 8 zu entnehmen.

In der Praxis umgesetzter FingerprotektorLupeFigur 8: In der Praxis umgesetzter Fingerprotektor DE 20 2004 013 835 U1 (Copyright: Uhlsport GmbH).


Das Mehrkomponenten-Kunststoffspritzen ermöglicht in einem Arbeitsgang die gleichzeitige Verarbeitung verschiedener synthetischer Materialien mit unterschiedlichen Eigenschaften. Daher können Protektorelemente auch aus mehreren Kunststoffen gebrauchsfertig als ein einziges Stück - das heißt ohne nachträgliche Kerbungen oder baulich getrennte Glieder - mit speziellen lokalen Funktionalitäten hergestellt werden. Die erforderliche Beweglichkeit und Schutzfunktion gewährleistet dann die äußere Form und Materialzusammensetzung des Protektors und nicht seine rein mechanischen Eigenschaften wie die DE 10 2005 014 470 B3 zeigt.

Der Daumen kann als einziger Finger vergleichsweise stark seitwärts bewegt werden und auch mit großem Radius rotieren. Konventionelle Protektorelemente berücksichtigen dies zumeist ungenügend, was in der Praxis oft zu einem Verrutschen der Protektoren führt und die Schutzfunktion schwächt. Daher sieht die DE 10 2004 043 779 A1 einen Materialstreifen für einen Torwarthandschuh vor, der speziell an die anatomischen Besonderheiten des Daumens angepasst ist. Dies wird mittels einer dem Gelenk an der Daumenwurzel nachgebildeten Verbreiterung des Protektors erreicht.

Den ungekehrten Weg beschreitet die FR 2 882 898 A1. Hier wird zwischen Innen- und Außenfutter des Handschuhs ein nur sehr wenig dehnbarer Materialstreifen eingebaut, der von der Handinnenfläche her eine Überstreckung der Finger verhindert.

Torwarthandschuh mit Knautschzone LupeFigur 9: Torwarthandschuh mit Knautschzone (aus US 2008/0 109 935 A1).

Weitere Möglichkeiten, die Hand eines Torwarts zu schützen, bestehen im Vorsehen von Knautschzonen oder zusätzlichen Fingerkappen für den Handschuh (EP 2 113 291 A1). Im Fall der Knautschzone aus US 2008/0 109 935 A1 wird ein bandförmiges Fingeranschlussstück 32, überständig zur Fingerkuppe und beidseitig an einem Handschuh-Fingerteil befestigt. Von außen frontal auf die Fingerspitze wirkende Kräfte werden hierdurch stark absorbiert und weitgehend auf die Fixierung des Bandes im Seitenbereich des Fingerlings abgeleitet (Figur 9). Zusätzlich vergrößert diese Extension auch die wirksame Handfläche und könnte dadurch zusätzliche Vorteile bieten, wenn sie beim Fangen vom Torwart nicht als Fremdkörper empfunden wird.

nach oben

Patentdokumente zu diesem Abschnitt
PublikationsnummerJahrTitelKurzbeschreibung
US 2008/0 109 935 A1   2006   Goalkeeper's glove with protective fingertip extension   Torwarthandschuh mit Knautschzone an den Fingerspitzen 
FR 2 882 898 A1   2005   Gant comportant des moyens our éviter le retournement des doigts  Von der Handinnenfläche her wirkender bandförmiger Überstreckschutz für Finger in einem Torwarthandschuh 
DE 10 2005 014 470 B3   2005   Handschuhverstärkungselement   Fingerprotektor für einen Torwarthandschuh durch Mehrkomponentenspritzen von Kunststoffen als ein Stück hergestellt mit der Möglichkeit Zusatzgewichte am Fingerkuppenende zu platzieren 
DE 20 2004 013 835 U1   2004   Fingerprotektor und damit ausgerüsteter Sporthandschuh   Fingerprotektor für Torwarthandschuhe (Kralle), bestehend aus einer Platine mit vierstrahlig abgehenden Streifen, die aus zusammengesteckten Einzelgliedern bestehen und die natürliche Fingerform nachahmen 
DE 10 2004 043 779 A1   2004   Versteifungsstreifen ausgebildet und bestimmt für einen Daumenbereich eines Handschuhs, insbesondere Torwarthandschuhs   Daumenprotektorelement für einen Torwarthandschuh mit einer an der Daumenwurzel verbreiterten Basis 
DE 20 2004 009 251 U1   2004   Versteifungseinrichtung für einen Handschuh, insbesondere Torwarthandschuh  Mehrgliedriger Fingerprotektor aus einzelnen mit Drehgelenken verbundenen Elementen 
EP 1 487 289 B1   2003   Soccer goalkeeper glove   Vom Baseball inspirierter Torwarthandschuh mit Schwimmhautoptik  
DE 103 29 796 B3   2003   Protektorelement für orthopädische Anwendungen sowie für Sportbekleidungsstücke   Überstreckschutz für Torwarthandschuhe in Form von wechselseitig über Schwenkzapfen ineinander greifende T-Glieder 
DE 200 23 139 U1   2000   Torwarthandschuh   Gliederkette als Fingerprotektor für Torwarthandschuhe, die für jeden Finger separat angepasst und eingenäht werden muss 
DE 200 11 652 U1   2000   Sporthandschuh   Torwarthandschuh mit fünffingerigem Überstreckschutz, der als ganzes in den Handschuhrücken eingenäht wird 
DE 199 10 799 C1   1999   Sporthandschuh, insbesondere Torwarthandschuh   Torwarthandschuh mit an den Fingerrücken eingesetzten Versteifungselementen, die auf einem zugfesten Band aufgebracht sind 
DE 35 16 545 C2   1985   Handschuh, insbesondere Torwarthandschuh  Überstreckschutz für einen Torwarthandschuh aus auf der Fingerrückseite eingearbeiteten, fingeraußenseitig eingekerbten Materialstegen, sowie "Schwimmhäuten" zwischen bestimmten Fingern. 

nach oben

2.5 Abriebbelastung und Schnittmuster

Schnittmuster für Torwarthandschuhe nach DE 103 27 051 A1.LupeFigur 10: Schnittmuster für Torwarthandschuhe nach DE 103 27 051. A1.

An der Handinnenfläche verarbeitete Materialien müssen sehr verschleißresistent sein, da es je nach Platzbeschaffenheit zu einer erhöhten Abriebbelastung kommen kann. Dem wird u.a. durch Beimengungen zum Deckschichtmaterial der Handinnenfläche entgegengewirkt, die selbst eine hohe Abriebfestigkeit aufweisen, aber die Funktionalität aufgrund ihrer Geometrie, Elastizität und Größe nicht behindern (DE 298 00 073 U1). Diese Beimengungen können z.B. Kunststoffgranulate oder Kunststofffasern sein.

Um den Ausschuss an Spezialmaterial bei der Herstellung von Handschuhen gering zu halten, werden für die Produktion optimierte Schnittmuster verwendet. Ein typisches Beispiel hierfür zeigt die DE 103 27 051 A1 (Figur 10).

nach oben

Patentdokumente zu diesem Abschnitt
PublikationsnummerJahrTitelKurzbeschreibung
DE 103 27 051 A1   2003   Sporthandschuh   Schnittmuster für einen Torwarthandschuh 
DE 298 00 073 U1   1998   Sporthandschuh, insbesondere Torwarthandschuh   Torwarthandschuh mit Beimengungen im Deckschichtmaterial der Handinnenfläche, um die Verschleißfestigkeit zu erhöhen 

nach oben

2.6 Gewichtstarierung

Torwarthandschuh mit verschließbaren Einschubfächern für Gewichte auf dem HandrückenLupeFigur 11: Torwarthandschuh mit verschließbaren Einschubfächern für Gewichte auf dem Handrücken aus der US 6 990 689 B1.

Alle Hilfsmittel am und im Handschuh, die dem Torwart das Kontrollieren des Balles erleichtern sollen, tragen letztlich zu dessen Gesamtgewicht bei. Ein Handschuh sollte aber in der Regel möglichst wenig Gewicht aufweisen. Sonst leidet die Armschnelligkeit des Torwarts oder es tritt bei starker Beanspruchung eine rasche Muskelermüdung ein.

In manchen Fällen kann jedoch das Einbringen von Zusatzgewichten an bestimmten Partien eines Torwarthandschuhs auch gewünscht sein und positiv wirken. So wird zum Beispiel die Möglichkeit eröffnet, gezielt bestimmte Muskelpartien des Torwarts zu trainieren, quasi als Bleiweste für die Arme und Hände. Ein anderer Vorteil ist die Anpassung der Gewichtsverteilung - also die Austarierung - des Handschuhs nach den persönlichen Vorlieben und Bedürfnissen des Torwarts. Dies ist nicht nur psychologisch bedeutsam sondern kann auch aus anatomischer Sicht die Sicherheit des Torhüters im Umgang mit dem Ball erhöhen. Details zum Thema sind der US 6 990 689 B1 zu entnehmen (Figur 11). Auch die unter 2.4 bereits erwähnte DE 10 2005 014 470 B3 sieht aus gleichen Gründen Zusatzgewichte vor. Dort werden sie allerdings an den Fingerkuppen von Protektorelementen aufgesteckt.

nach oben

Patentdokumente zu diesem Abschnitt
PublikationsnummerJahrTitelKurzbeschreibung
DE 10 2005 014 470 B3   2005   Handschuhverstärkungselement   Fingerprotektor für einen Torwarthandschuh durch Mehrkomponentenspritzen von Kunststoffen als ein Stück hergestellt mit der Möglichkeit Zusatzgewichte an den Fingerkuppen zu platzieren 
US 6 990 689 B1   2003   Weighted soccer goalie glove  Torwarthandschuh mit im Handrücken eingearbeiteten Taschen für Zusatzgewichtselemente  

nach oben