Logo of the German Patent and Trade Mark Office

 

You are here:  > Homepage  > Welcome  > Patents

Patents

Patents foster innovations

patent logo

Patent

Patents protect new technical inventions. They confer to their owners a territorial monopoly right for a limited period. The patent owner alone is entitled to exploit the invention. He can prohibit unauthorised commercial use of the patented invention. Patents allow to derive economic benefits from inventions.

In return, the patent owner has legal duties. By filing a patent application he agrees to the publication of his invention. Thus, a patent can serve as a standard for other inventors and as a basis for further developments in the relevant field of technology.

Patents make it easier to take business decisions

Patents play an important role in business decision-making processes. Searching patent literature may help to avoid expensive and unnecessary duplication of research and development. Patent searches also help you to avoid the risk of infringing other patent rights.

The patent portfolio of a company showcases its innovative potential and economic capacity. Patents show strategies and development trends. They are an important factor in the evaluation of companies. Patent searches are the key to unlocking this vast wealth of knowledge.

An invention is protected for 20 years

When you file an invention at the German Patent and Trade Mark Office, this does not automatically create a patent. Your invention will only be patented after a legally-prescribed procedure has been conducted and concluded with a positive result. The exclusive right of use and the right to prevent others from using the invention come into effect with the grant of the patent.

A granted patent has a (retroactive) effect from the date of filing for a maximum period of 20 years. Special provisions apply to inventions in the field of pharmaceuticals and plant protection products. After expiry of the maximum period of protection, protection of patents may be extended, under certain conditions, for up to five years by supplementary protection certificates and for a further period of up to six months in case of recognised studies on medicinal products for paediatric use (paediatric extensions).

European and international applications

The rights conferred by a patent that was granted by the DPMA can only be asserted in Germany. All IP rights including patents are subject to the principle of territoriality and only have effect in the country for which they were granted. It is of course possible to seek protection for the invention in other countries. For more information please see Patent protection abroad.

A glance at the legal texts...

These pages summarise the basic facts about patents. For this reason, they contain simplified and generalised statements. It is not possible to present all patent issues here in an exhaustive and authoritative manner. For more detailed information please see the fact sheets published by the DPMA or, in case of doubt, the legal texts. The legal basis for patents is laid down in the Patentgesetz (Patent Act) and the Patentverordnung (Patent Ordinance).

© 2014 Deutsches Patent- und Markenamt | Last updated 21/10/14

Logo des Deutsches Patent- und Markenamt

 

Sie sind hier:  > Homepage  > Patent

Patent

Patente fördern Innovationen

Logo Patent

Patent

Das Patent schützt neue technische Erfindungen. Es verleiht seinem Inhaber das räumlich und zeitlich befristete Privileg, allein über die Erfindung zu verfügen. Der Patentinhaber erhält damit ein Exklusivrecht für die Verwertung seiner Erfindung. Eine nicht autorisierte gewerbliche Nutzung des Patents kann er verbieten. Das Patent ermöglicht es, wirtschaftlichen Nutzen aus der Erfindung zu ziehen.

Im Gegenzug erwachsen dem Patentinhaber auch gesetzliche Verpflichtungen. Mit der Patentanmeldung stimmt er zu, dass seine Erfindung veröffentlicht wird. Ein Patent kann damit anderen Erfindern als Maßstab und Basis für Weiterentwicklungen auf dem betreffenden Gebiet der Technik dienen.

Patente erleichtern unternehmerische Entscheidungen

Patente spielen auch eine wichtige Rolle bei unternehmerischen Entscheidungen. Recherchen in der Patentliteratur können Ihnen helfen, teure und unnötige Doppelentwicklungen zu vermeiden. Auch der Gefahr, fremde Schutzrechte zu verletzen, können Sie so vorbeugen.

Die Anzahl angemeldeter oder gehaltener Patente einer Firma spricht für deren Innovationspotential und ökonomische Leistungsfähigkeit. Patente zeigen Strategien und Entwicklungstendenzen. Sie sind ein wichtiger Faktor für die Bewertung von Unternehmen. Eine Patentrecherche ist der Schlüssel zu diesem riesigen Schatz an Wissen.

Erfindung ist 20 Jahre geschützt

Ein Patent entsteht nicht automatisch mit Anmeldung Ihrer Erfindung beim Deutschen Patent- und Markenamt. Ihre Erfindung kann erst dann tatsächlich patentiert werden, wenn ein gesetzlich vorgeschriebenes Verfahren mit positivem Ergebnis durchlaufen wurde. Erst mit der Patenterteilung setzt Ihr Schutz- und Verbietungsrecht ein.

Ein erteiltes Patent wirkt ab dem Anmeldetag (rückwirkend) maximal 20 Jahre lang. Erfindungen im Zusammenhang mit Arzneimitteln und Pflanzenschutzmitteln bilden hierbei eine Ausnahme. Nach Ablauf der maximalen Patentlaufzeit können sie unter bestimmten Voraussetzungen mit Ergänzenden Schutzzertifikaten maximal weitere fünf Jahre geschützt werden und noch einmal um maximal weitere sechs Monate bei anerkannten Studien über Kinderarzneimittel (pädiatrische Verlängerungen).

Europäisch und international anmelden

Die Rechte aus einem vom DPMA erteilten Patent können Sie nur innerhalb Deutschlands geltend machen. Patente unterliegen, wie alle anderen gewerblichen Schutzrechte auch, dem Territorialitätsprinzip und gelten nur in dem Land, für das sie erteilt wurden. Natürlich gibt es Möglichkeiten, eine Patentanmeldung auf andere Länder auszudehnen. Mehr dazu unter Patentschutz im Ausland.

Ein Blick ins Gesetz...

Diese Seiten fassen die wesentlichen Informationen zum Patent zusammen. Sie enthalten daher auch vereinfachte und verallgemeinernde Aussagen. Eine vollständige und verbindliche Darstellung der Materie ist in diesem Rahmen jedoch nicht möglich. Weitergehende Informationen können Sie den Merkblättern des DPMA und im Zweifelsfall den Gesetzestexten entnehmen. Als gesetzliche Grundlagen gelten hier das Patentgesetz und die Patentverordnung.

© 2014 Deutsches Patent- und Markenamt | 09.04.2014